• Capital: Avarua
  • Time Zone: GMT -10
  • Currency: USD

The Cook Islands are a self-governing island country in the South Pacific Ocean in free association with New Zealand123. They consist of 15 islands of coral, sand, or volcanic origin124. The main island is Rarotonga24. The Cook Islands have a population of around 17,500 and are part of the Realm of New Zealand. They were named after Captain James Cook, who visited them in the 18th century4